< Back to News

DTP Pathway Directors – 2nd Call For Applications

January 25, 2017

The White Rose Doctoral Training Partnership (WRDTP) is delighted to offer further opportunities for academic colleagues with experience of PhD supervision, conducting interdisciplinary and collaborative research and managing doctoral research environments, to lead one of the following new WRDTP Interdisciplinary Themed Pathways as a Pathway Director.

Eligibility to lead one of these 4 pathways has now been opened up to academic colleagues in the departments linked to the training pathway as accredited in the WRDTP ESRC bid:

Security, Conflict, and Justice (SCJ) Pathway – colleagues must be based in one of the following departments:

  • University of Leeds – School of Law, School of Computing, School of Politics and International Studies, School of Sociology and Social Policy
  • University of Sheffield – School of Law, Department of Computer Science, Department of Politics
  • University of York – Law School, Department of Psychology, Department of Politics, Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Data, Communication, and New Technologies (DCT) Pathway – colleagues must be based in one of the following departments:

  • University of Leeds – School of Media and Communications, School of Geography, School of Education, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies
  • University of Sheffield – Information School, Department of Journalism Studies, School of Architecture, Department of Landscape, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, Department of Sociological Studies, School of Education, Department of Human Communication Sciences
  • University of York – Department of Sociology, School of Education, Department of Language and Linguistic Science

Wellbeing, Health, and Communities (WHC) Pathway – colleagues must be based in one of the following departments:

  • University of Leeds – School of Psychology, Leeds Institute of Health Sciences, Leeds University Business School, School of Sociology and Social Policy, School of History
  • University of Sheffield – Department of Psychology, School of Health and Related Research, Department of Economics, Management School, Department of Sociological Studies, Department of History
  • University of York – Department of Psychology, Department of Health Sciences, Department of Economics, Management School, Department of Social Policy and Social Work, Department of History
  • University of Bradford – Faculty of Health Studies, School of Management
  • University of Hull – Department of Psychology
  • Manchester Metropolitan University – Department of Social Care and Social Work
  • Sheffield Hallam University – Centre for Regional Economic and Social Research

Sustainable Growth, Management, and Economic Productivity (SMP) Pathway – colleagues must be based in one of the following departments:

  • University of Leeds – Leeds University Business School, School of Earth and Environment
  • University of Sheffield – Management School, Department of Geography, Department of Economics
  • University of York – Management School, Environment Department, Department of Economics
  • University of Bradford – School of Management
  • University of Hull – Geography/Geology


In July 2016 the ESRC announced the accreditation of 14 new Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTP) to succeed the current 21 Doctoral Training Centres (DTC). The DTPs have been accredited by the ESRC for six years funding for awards starting in September 2017. The new White Rose Doctoral Training Partnership (WRDTP) now builds on the success of the White Rose DTC universities of Sheffield, York and Leeds by bringing in the social sciences research excellence of the Universities of BradfordHullManchester Metropolitan and Sheffield Hallam.

This new White Rose Social Sciences Doctoral Training Partnership will offer from 2017:

  • A unique interdisciplinary and thematic student experience that will facilitate research beyond traditional discipline boundaries, enabling students to develop holistic understandings of the grand challenges that face society and how these can be addressed by the Social Sciences.
  • Shared training and co-supervision, building on the critical mass of the seven universities and with the collective strength of around 2,000 academics in 60 Social Science departments, to ensure that Social Science students are trained by the very best academics and professionals in their core areas of expertise.
  • collaborative and impactful student experience, through partnerships and ‘people exchange’ opportunities with non-academic partners in the public sector, with businesses, and civil society organisations, nationally and internationally, building on our existing relationships, and new activities with the N8 Research Partnership and the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN).
  • comprehensive, flexible and responsive model of doctoral training through seven interdisciplinary thematic multi-institutional pathways, to give access to a wider portfolio of problem-based skills and experience and produce doctoral graduates with outstanding core, general and transferable skills.
  • The 7 interdisciplinary Pathways are:
  1. Cities, Environment, and Liveability (CEL)
  2. Security, Conflict, and Justice (SCJ)
  3. Education, Childhood, and Youth (ECY)
  4. Data, Communication, and New Technologies (DCT)
  5. Wellbeing, Health, and Communities (WHC)
  6. Sustainable Growth, Management, and Economic Productivity (SMP)
  7. Civil Society, Development, and Democracy (CDD)

Pathway Descriptions

Further details can be found here.

Pathway Director Role and Responsibilities

Further details about the role can be found here DTP Pathway Director Role Jan 2017

Tenure: 3 years

How to apply

  • Applications: a current CV and max 400 word expression of interest indicating the Pathway you are applying to and why you are the person for this role.
  • Email to: to wrdtc-director@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Closing Date: noon, 27 February 2017
  • Interviews: likely to be held 14th March 2017 at the University of Sheffield